Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights
Wuthering Heights
Wuthering Heights: First of all, this story is a wild, passionate story.
It is a story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff.
Heathcliff is a foundling adopted by Catherine’s father.

After Mr Earnshaw’s death, Heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherine’s brother Hindley.
When wrongly believing that his love for Catherine is not reciprocated, Heathcliff leaves Wuthering Heights.
Only to return years later as a wealthy and polished man.

He proceeds to exact a terrible revenge for his former miseries. The action of the story is chaotic and unremittingly violent.  An awesome books to read.

About the Author – Emile Bronte:
Emily Jane Brontë was a British novelist and poet.  Now best remembered for her only novel Wuthering Heights.
A classic of English literature.

Emily was the second eldest of the three surviving Brontë sisters.
Being younger than Charlotte Brontë and older than Anne Brontë. She published under the masculine pen name Ellis Bell.

Emily was born in Thornton, near Bradford in Yorkshire to Patrick Brontë and Maria Branwell.
She was the younger sister of Charlotte Brontë and the fifth of six children.

In childhood, after the death of their mother, the three sisters and their brother Patrick Branwell Brontë created imaginary lands.  Namely,  Angria, Gondal, Gaaldine, and Oceania.  These were featured in stories they wrote.

Little of Emily’s work from this period survived, except for poems spoken by characters. The Brontës’ Web of Childhood, Fannie Ratchford, 1941.

In 1842, Emily commenced work as a governess.  This was at Miss Patchett’s Ladies Academy at Law Hill School near Halifax. She left after about six months due to homesickness.

Later, with her sister Charlotte, she attended a private school in Brussels. They later tried to open up a school at their home, but had no pupils.

Furthermore, it was the discovery of Emily’s poetic talent by Charlotte that led her and her sisters, Charlotte and Anne, to publish a joint collection of their poetry in 1846.   Poems by Currer, Ellis, and Acton Bell.

To evade contemporary prejudice against female writers, the Brontë sisters adopted first names.
All three retained the first letter of their first names.  Charlotte became Currer Bell, Anne became Acton Bell, and Emily became Ellis Bell.

Hence, in 1847, she published her only novel, Wuthering Heights, as two volumes of a three volume set.
The last volume being Agnes Grey by her sister Anne.

The book recieved mixed reviews when it first came out.  Even so, the book subsequently became an English literary classic.  In 1850, Charlotte edited and published Wuthering Heights.
This was edited as a stand-alone novel and under Emily’s real name.

Finally, like her sisters, Emily’s health had been weakened by the harsh local climate at home and at school.
She caught a chill during the funeral of her brother in September.
While, having refused all medical help, she died on December 19, 1848 of tuberculosis.
This was possibly caught from nursing her brother.
In conclusion, she was interred in the Church of St. Michael and All Angels family capsule, Haworth, West Yorkshire, England.

Wuthering Heights

You may also like...