In the Bleak Midwinter

In the Bleak Midwinter

In the Bleak Midwinter
In the Bleak Midwinter:  Winter 1919,  two months after the Armistice that ended the Great War,  life in London’s East End is slowly returning to normal.  Yet, for 25-year-old Birdie Connor the battle is only just beginning.

Frank, Birdie’s older brother, has been sent to prison for deserting his army post, while fighting in Belgium.
Also,  the shame heaped on the Connor family by their neighbours is unrelenting,  due to this.

In addition, Wilfred, Birdie’s widowed father,  has disowned Frank.   Consequently,  he vows that he will never set eyes on his son again,  but Birdie cannot believe that her brother is guilty.

Especially relevant, is  when Frank escapes from prison and comes to find Birdie in secret, she promises to help him.   She is determined to prove his innocence.   Little does she realise that she is exposing herself to danger,  as Frank gets himself deeper and deeper into trouble ,  because of  the so-called friends he met in prison.

Furthermore,  helped by the Connors’ lodger, the handsome Harry Chambers, will Birdie be able to find the proof that Frank needs.  All this  in time to finally reconcile him to their frail father before it is too late?

In conclusion, can she build a future to keep herself and her younger brother, Patrick, safe?

About the Author  –  Carol Rivers:
While Carol Rivers writes about an area in the heart of London,  called Docklands,  in contrast, Carol and her husband live in breathtaking Dorset and have a wonderful, expanding family.

“I’ve been fortunate enough to have made my living by writing and I’ve enjoyed a long and harmonious relationship with my publisher, Simon & Schuster.  But in recent months I can only stand in awe of the growing and robust numbers of Indie authors, whom I admire so much and who have revolutionized the publishing industry.

There is fire in the belly of this movement,  giving a whole new aspect to the accepted technology and I’ve made many friends in the Indie world.    On-line life for me has become rich and diverse with tales of Indie adventures and successes that are simply staggering.  This is mouth-watering stuff and I feel privileged to be here on Goodreads.”

Hence:  Novels by Carol Rivers:
Lizzie of Langley Street 2005; Rose of Ruby Street 2005 (aka East End Jubilee); Connie of Kettle Street 2006; Bella of Bow Street 2007; Lily of Love Lane 2008; Eve of the Isle 2009; East End Angel 2010; In the Bleak Midwinter 2011; A Sister’s Shame 2012; Cockney Orphan 2013; A War Time Christmas 2013; Together For Christmas 2014; The Fight for Lizzie Flowers 2015; The Promise Between Friends 2016;


In the Bleak Midwinter



You may also like...