Farewell, My Lovely

Farewell, My Lovely
Farewell, My Lovely
Farewell, My Lovely,  is the story of private detective Philip Marlowe.
Hence, the novel follows Marlowe’s movements in and around Bay City.
Bay City is a fictional town in California not far from Los Angeles.
Marlowe, who is a former investigator for the District Attorney’s office, is a loner whose business is slow.

Moose Malloy kills Mr. Sam Montgomery, who was the owner of Florian’s night club.
Philip Marlowe happened to be in the next room, at the time.

However, Marlowe is beaten, drugged, and thrown into a small sanitarium.
As he escapes the sanitarium, Marlowe sees Malloy lounging in one of the rooms.

Marlowe meets two very different women,  in the novel Farewell, My Lovely.
These women, prove to be equally interesting and attractive to him.

Anne Riordan is the Irish girl next door.  She is young, fresh, full of ideas.
She is sometimes too impetuous for her own good.  Anne has a good heart and a just-pretty-enough face.

Mrs. Grayle, on the other hand,  is smouldering.
Her blond hair and ample figure hold Marlowe’s attention a little too well.
Mrs. Grayle is a woman with a secret, however, which makes her a liability.

In conclusion, at the end of the day, Marlowe likes his life the way it is.
Sparse and edgy,  with few emotional attachments.  Marlowe also likes his liquor, medicinal and otherwise.

About the Author – Raymond Chandler
Raymond Thornton Chandler was born,  July 23, 1888:  He died, in La Jolla, California, March 26, 1959.
Chandler was a British-American novelist and screenwriter.

The author decided to become a detective fiction writer, in 1932, at age forty-four.
He chose to do this, after losing his job as an oil company executive during the Great Depression.

His first novel, Blackmailers Don’t Shoot, was published in 1933.
It was published in a popular pulp magazine called Black mask.

Chandler published seven novels during his lifetime, in addition to his short stories,
An  eighth novel,  in progress at the time of his death, was completed by Robert B. Parker.

In addition, all his novels, except for Playback,  have been made into motion pictures, some several times.
Chandler was elected president of the Mystery Writers of America, in the year before he died.

Furthermore, some of Chandler’s novels are considered important literary works.
The three novels that are often considered masterpieces are:
Farewell, My Lovely (1940); The Little Sister (1949); and The Long Goodbye (1953).

Farewell, My Lovely


You may also like...