Echo Boy

Echo Boy

Echo Boy

Echo Boy,   by Nestlé Smarties Book Prize winner Matt Haig,  is a stand-alone science/speculative-fiction novel set exactly 100 years in the future.

It offers a vision of what day-to-day life may be like in the next century,  exploring the likely advancements in technology,  and artificial intelligence,  while telling a tale of love,  loss,  betrayal and corruption.

Audrey’s father taught her that to stay human in the modern world.   She had to build a moat around herself.

A moat of books and music, philosophy and dreams.  A moat that makes Audrey different from the echoes: sophisticated,  emotionless machines,  built to resemble humans and to work for human masters.

Daniel is an echo,  Enhanced Computerized Humanoid Organism (Echo),  but he is not like the others.  He feels a connection with Audrey.  A feeling Daniel knows he was never designed to have, and cannot explain.

When Audrey is placed in terrible danger, he is determined to save her.

The Echo Boy is a powerful story about love, loss and what makes us truly human

About the Author – Matt Haig

Matt Haig was born in Sheffield, England in 1975.

He writes books for both adults and children,  often blending the worlds of domestic reality and outright fantasy, with a quirky twist.

His bestselling novels are translated into 28 languages.  The Guardian has described his writing as ‘delightfully weird’.
The New York Times has called him ‘a novelist of great talent’ whose writing is ‘funny, riveting and heartbreaking’.

His novels for adults are :

The Last Family in England, narrated by a labrador and optioned for film by Brad Pitt;

The Dead Fathers Club (2006), an update of Hamlet featuring an 11-year-old boy;

The Possession of Mr Cave (2008), about a man obsessed with his daughter’s safety

The Radleys (2010) which won Channel 4’s TV Book Club public vote and was shortlisted for a Galaxy National Book Award (UK).

The film rights to all his adult novels have been sold.   His next adult novel is The Humans (2013).

His multi-award winning popular first novel for children, Shadow Forest, was published in 2007 and its sequel, The Runaway Troll, in 2009.

His most recent children’s novel is To Be A Cat (2012).


Echo Boy




You may also like...